Juvenile Driving Under the Influence, Underage DUI
In the state of California, it is illegal for minors, and those between the ages of 18 and 21, to drink any amount of alcohol. In addition, the California legislature enacted a zero-tolerance policy beginning in 1990 that requires juvenile DUI offenders have their driver’s license suspended for any blood alcohol concentration measuring more than .01% for no less than 1 year. What’s more, an underage DUI can have a lasting effect on one’s criminal record, including hindering the following: employment (and the mode of transportation to the person’s place of employment), ability to participate in sports and other activities, eligibility to enter into military service, and a host of other negative consequences.
With $4 billion of advertising per year, underage young adults are likely to be exposed to some amount of marketing related to alcoholic beverages. According to the Center for Disease Control (CDC), alcohol is the most commonly used drug by those under the age of 21. Underage drivers are held to a different standard because the law states that no one under the age of 21 can consume alcohol. Furthermore, 65% of those who have consumed alcohol and are between the ages of 18 and 20, admit to binge drinking. In addition, the CDC says that 8% of underage drinkers admit to driving after consuming some quantity of alcohol. In a time when movies, commercials, and young adult stars are portrayed as fearless and untouchable, the pressure on teens to emulate those values is more than ever. Combine that pressure with the abundance and easy availability of alcohol infused beverages made to taste like Capri Sun, and juveniles are more at risk than ever to participate in underage drinking and driving.
The underage consumption of alcohol, when coupled with driving, can lead to more than just a simple Juvenile DUI charge; it can lead to minor in possession if alcohol is in the car and vehicle impoundment (which can cost thousands of dollars). Further, if an underage drunk driver is involved in an accident that causes property damage, injuries to other drivers, passengers, or pedestrians, or loss of life (to any of the aforementioned parties, or otherwise), the consequences and penalties can be completely life altering to the person convicted of underage drinking and driving – not to mention the life changes of the people responsible for the underage driver.
If you, or your underage minor, have been charged as a juvenile with Driving Under the Influence, contact the attorney at the Johnson Criminal Law Group now to talk about your case. In many cases, the sooner you contact the law office, the better your case’s outcome can be. Ms. Johnson has the ability to negotiate with the prosecutor on the juvenile driver’s behalf, and in some cases has been able to obtain a restricted license for the minor. This proves extremely useful for those convicted of underage drunk driving when trying to travel from home to school or work.