Minor in Possession of Alcohol (BP 25662) in Aliso Viejo
Not always considered a juvenile crime, in the city of Aliso Viejo, and in the rest of California, a minor is someone who is under the age of 21. If a minor is caught drinking in public, purchasing alcohol, possessing alcohol or holding an opened or unopened container, then they can be charged under California Business and Professions Code Section 25662.Penalties and the Impact of a Conviction
- Penalties for a first offence include; 24-36 hours of community service and a fine of $250
- For a subsequent offence, the penalties will include; 36-48 hours of community service and a fine not exceeding $500
The impact of a BP 25662 conviction can have consequences that can last for a lifetime. Some of the consequences will include the following:
You will have a criminal record of the conviction.
You will not be able to later on request a dismissal of the misdemeanor conviction and even if you manage to get it dismissed, it will still remain in your record which means that anyone can access the damning information.
You may fail to get into a graduate school of your choice since the graduate school may ask if you have a criminal record and disqualify you for a position due to the criminal record.
You may lose an opportunity to become a doctor, lawyer, accountant, licensed real estate agent or a licensed teacher.
The California Department of Motor Vehicles could also suspended your driver’s license for 1-year.
With the penalties and impact in mind, it is critically important that a minor find the best legal criminal representation. The Johnson Criminal Law Group is the law office to call today about your case.